Dying Girls and Films that won’t Die

girl
Image Courtesy: indiewire.com

Me, Earl and Dying Girl did not confuse me. I knew which parts I loved and which parts I couldn’t care less for, clearly.
The latter first.
The Dying Girl is a plot device. A trope. No, she really is a subset of Manic Pixie Dream Girl of Sick-Lit whose ultimate purpose is to give hope and direction to the wayward and poor lost hero that the “Me” part of the equation in the title is. In a way, in retrospect, I do expect I should have known that the book had a self obsessed, self abhorring what’shisname considering the number of YA I have read by now.
The jokes from the book about bisexuality are hideous and I do wonder if the author understood how awareness requires him to be just as responsible  as a young adult writer, to fill in the lines between nonsense teenagers in their bubble of self assured invulnerability say.
Stereotyped Earl, what’s up with that?
Is he anything more than every perception the media force feeds us about him? Nope.

me-and-earl-and-the-dying-girl

We can definitely notice that Alejandro Gomez Sanchez had fun setting all the scenes and performing those parodies. I really don’t find them all that awful. Instead I’m in awe with the creativity and time these kids have at their disposal. To be so nonchalant about all their effort in something they obviously loved so much, was surprising. This is also where it is so obviously, an Indie film despite referencing the great films from Criterion Collection.
My favourite has got to be the À bout de souffle (1960) (Breathless) parody.
Delightful I say.

me-and-earl

meandearl_1

-JRK

Leave a Reply

