IBMC #05: The Not So Quite Quote Challenge – Story of a gramophone and a dancing figurine box.

This Post is written for the Incredible Blogger Marathon Challenge.The challenge has 10 tasks and this is the fifth one. You can view my previous entries: 1 2 3 4

Incredible Blogger Marathon Challenge #05: The Not So Quite Quote Challenge  is to use all the five quotes a stitch a story.

5

My entry is:

Story of a gramophone and a dancing figurine box.

Hello. I am the gramophone. My scratches make music. I just play the record sitting comfortably on me. My thoughts are always soundwaves. Thoughts – they do what we don’t ask for! There’s a part of the box with a dancing figurine. Whenever I sing, it moves wonderfully. I cannot see it. But I can feel the movement. Sometimes, the figurine laughs. A trilling and short laugh. I wonder why it moves, only when I talk. I have tried to find out. My voice is scratchy, as you may have noticed. I am an old thing. I am sure the moving, dancing thing is tired, what with how much I sing and how it is obliged to dance. I am confused at times. Should I sound? Should I echo? I have wanted to know who moves up there for so long, I do not know what to do anymore. When I hear the laughter at precise intervals, I strain to look. I say to the figurine, “You need not answer all the questions! You can just laugh and laugh again. I will discover your identity someday.

At times, we pretend to think on one and actually think everything else! Don’t you think so? One such day, I unexpectedly moved towards the ground. I was thinking about the new scratch I was making on a perfectly good record of a new South Indian band. The box moved with me. I beheld the figurine. Was it a dancing girl? Was it a small merry-go-round? Was it just a clock? An HMV dog looking into my horn? I did not even know what I was looking for. I looked harder.

I knew it! That I don’t know! I never did.

How could I, when it was just a defective sound amplifier? I am too old to be playing music still. Nevertheless, I found you, dancing figurine.

This post is a result of wracking my brain and landing on a gift I received recently. Antiques and their charms, I tell you.

-JRK

10 comments

  1. That is a lovely ode to gramophone! The post plays all the tunes of joy, missing and happiness. It must feel so good to have that as a gift. So far I have never seen one in real. Was all in movies and pictures only.

    I enjoyed reading this.. 🙂 Awesome! 🙂 Needless to mention, the quotes have glued inside the post perfectly. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

