IBMC #08: The Nursery Rhyme Challenge

This Post is written for the Incredible Blogger Marathon Challenge.The challenge has 10 tasks and this is the eighth one. You can view my previous entries: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Incredible Blogger Marathon Challenge #08: The Nursery Rhyme Challenge is to pick a nursery rhyme and make a new interpretation of it.

8

My entry:

Laddu and prasadam,
Say the temple bells of Tirupathi.

You eat the banana leaf lunch,
Say the temple bells of Mantralaya.

Will you loosen your silk saree?
Say the temple bells of Kanchi.

When I eat a little more maybe,
Say the temple bells of Madurai-Rameshwaram.

When will you be at peace?
Say the temple bells of Sringeri.

I do not know.
Say the great bells of Tuljapur.

Here comes aarthi to light your prayer,
And here comes the blessing for your soul!

 

This rhyme is a parody of Oranges and Lemons. The song was a fun recess time quick game to play in my childhood. I always got my ‘head chopped by the chopper’ in the first round itself. Nevertheless, I adored the adrenaline rush the game was bound to give me.

In my parody of the popular nursery rhyme, I have Indian-ized the rhyme by plugging in the places of worship in my religion and weaved in a story with it.

anneguygardendesigns
Image Courtesy: anneguygardendesign

-JRK

5 comments

Leave a Reply

