IBMC #09: The Be a Baby Challenge

This Post is written for the Incredible Blogger Marathon Challenge.The challenge has 10 tasks and this is the ninth one. You can view my previous entries: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Incredible Blogger Marathon Challenge #9: The Be a Baby Challenge is to to see something with a fresh new perspective

9

My entry is:

I look up and sideways with my big wide eyes and I see this thing. It is black, I think? And it is shiny. I take my fist and try to catch it, but it shiny thing just slides away from my fist. Shiny thing is elusive. Or did I just push it away? It was cold. Like that boy’s hand when he plays with me. That boy Amma feeds with her hand. It is long like my milk bottle. Is it milk? A gasp escapes my squeaky throat.

But when the thing moves I see it changes colour; bubbles pop, rush from one side to another like Amma does, from her work to when I start crying in discomfort of a strange sensation. I put my fingers in mouth. I can taste the chilled sharp flavour. It is unlike anything I have tasted before.

I look up again and see bright light from the windows. The window is small, but lights up the tiny room. I try to catch the light, but it shimmers too much. Shimmer! Something else was just as bright but different shade, wasn’t it? I don’t remember. I move my face away from the light and it does not twinkle in my eyes anymore.

There! I see the shiny item again. I strain to reach it. Pa and that boy come into the room. I can see them beyond that thing. The boy looks like him. Pa takes the shiny thing. I cry out strongly, reaching for it. Pa laughs, and the boy starts poking my cheek. It tickles, I laugh.

I hear him say, “He wants the fizzy drink!”

Shiny thing is named fizzy drink. Just like I’m named “Achuchuchu!” I think.

I must remember. Oh, I am hungry now. Amma!

7 comments

Leave a Reply

