#NaPoWriMo Day 8: A Malay Pantoum to Love in the Metro

The pantoum is a poetic form originating in Malay where poets write quatrains (4-line stanzas) with an abab rhyme scheme and repeat lines 2 and 4 in the previous stanza as lines 1 and 3 in the next stanza.

And nope, this did not happen to me, and YOU KNOW WHY?! Because the METRO IN JAYANAGAR IS STILL UNDER CONSTRUCTION…

Gahhh!!!

WhatsApp Image 2017-04-10 at 10.41.29 PM (1)WhatsApp Image 2017-04-10 at 10.41.29 PMWhatsApp Image 2017-04-10 at 10.29.55 PM (2)WhatsApp Image 2017-04-10 at 10.29.54 PMWhatsApp Image 2017-04-10 at 10.29.55 PMWhatsApp Image 2017-04-10 at 10.29.55 PM (1)

1. Boy meets girl, interlude, recompense- a mushy puree
2. Normally this is how a love poem goes
3. Mine started with a toss of funeral bouquet
4. “Pardon me.” His voice is oh so sonorous

2. Normally this is how a love poem goes
5. Up Up Down Down Left Right Left Right B A B A !
4. “Pardon me.” His voice is oh so sonorous
6. The Metro line, like his jawline snaked its way

5. Up Up Down Down Left Right Left Right B A B A !
7. Start! That’s when he slid in the sliding doors
6. The Metro line, like his jawline snaked its way
8. I felt like the angels were riding out their chorus.

7. Start! That’s when you slid in the sliding doors
9. I was all ready to meet you, just when I pressed play.
8. I felt like the angels were riding out their chorus.
10. I will talk to you someday, I resolved, just not today.

9. I was all ready to meet you, just when I pressed play
11. On my DVD, MP4, used less guitar,, I can’t remember? How preposterous!
10. I will talk to you someday, I resolved, just not today.
12. A nice smile, perhaps a pseudo intellectual? My mind quarrels.

11. On my DVD, MP4, used less guitar, I can’t remember? How preposterous!
13. Crooning songs drowned by the elephants in my stomach, to my dismay
12. A nice smile, perhaps a pseudo intellectual? My mind quarrels.
14. Nope, he takes out a good hardback to read; heart, anchors aweigh!

-JRK

Leave a Reply

