NaPoWriMo Day 9: Bengaluru nights for the ’80s

One of those sleepless nights in Bengaluru, I took to Take 5 and got myself some contraband booty… A coaster with a saxophone.

Shhh.

Gods bless ye, Leonard Cohen and Bob Dylan, my inspirers, o’er ‘ere.

WhatsApp Image 2017-04-13 at 4.53.01 PM (1)WhatsApp Image 2017-04-13 at 4.53.01 PM (2)WhatsApp Image 2017-04-13 at 4.53.01 PM

sax

So long, Mr Saxophone Man, but before that,
Would you play another little song for me
I’m in this dinghy bar in its own bubble
And got a curfew coming for me

It can be a swish and a flick of your instrument
The nights are tired but I cannot go
Back to where I came from so soon
It’s too far away, and the traffic is terrible, as it is.

Take me across this land to somewhere cold and blue
I don’t care what you do; just need to go with you
How you know which knob to press
Do it again, once again for me, Mr Saxophone Man

It makes for a mellow rich tune
Take a breath once in a while
Streets of Indiranagar will wait for you
Even to this ditty, you have me to woo

So long Mr. Saxophone Man
The street lights will flicker like our memories
As I walk back home, way past my curfew
On this tired night, remembering your swishing tune.⁠⁠⁠⁠

-JRK

4 comments

Leave a Reply

