City Diaries

via Daily Prompt: Lifestyle

City Diaries: For that road trip you always wanted to take

Images and Videos from City Diaries

GOPR1424.JPG

What started as a passion to experiment with capturing the best but affordable places in and around Bangalore has gone on to become a travelogue. College students around Bengaluru have begun to appreciate the quintessential road trip experience everyone must have in their college life but City Diaries goes above and beyond by pouring in affection for Karnataka’s refreshing beauty. Bengaluru itself is an artsy place without even trying. City diaries makes a clear distinction between the tourism and traveling.

IMG_20170302_184050-01

Sourabh  Hamigi and his friends do not just see Mysuru Palace, Bandipur Wildlife Reserves and Gokarna beaches but also give you a snapshot from thier vantage point of view of Gopalswami betta, Kumaraparvatha, and Gandikota. In this way, the viewer, you, feels our thrill and wonder as well. Essentially, you feel part of the journey. The videos dance to the music of the beautiful places they see.

GOPR1370.JPG

They take you to waterfalls, to Grand Canyon of Asia, and even our own Gandhibazaar. Observe the phenomenal sensation of sitting by camp fires under starry nights, camel rides, random coffee stops, and jamming sessions. Planning, organizing and engaging the audience in alternate travel routes has helped Sourabh to become self-aware regarding his surroundings and to become sustainable in a world hooked to the internet almost all the time.

Sourabh’s favourite trip so far was to Hampi. Why, though?

“Hampi is a place like no other. It’s unique, it’s serene and it has a VIBE of its own. Of all the travelling I have done in the past few years, of all the videos I have made from travelling, I think I put the most time and mind in creating the video For Hampi. Hampi is beautiful and it deserves nothing less than my best effort in showing that beauty and hopefully that beauty was well preserved in ‘Hampi vibes’”


A co-traveler, and photgrapher, Kaushik talks about his favourite experience- “We visited Kumara Parvata hill, adjacent to the temple in Kukke Subrahmanya. It’s a very famous trekking spot in South India, considered to be one amongst the hardest. It was a 28 km trek both ways, and easily the best one I’ve done so far. The overall experience was very refreshing. What these kind of treks do is, you’re put into testing. Your mental toughness is the main thing, besides physical fitness. What I learnt is that, anything is possible if you convince yourself so. It was mind over matter for me, while returning, it was very hard, sore knees, bruised feet, no water, scorching sun, and a bus to catch after the decent. We could not afford to rest for much. So I only told myself, I can either focus on the pain, or on the destiny.
So there is a lot to learn and experience through such treks. So that’s about this trek. It was an amazing experience overall.

And about why I like to travel? It’s all about the joy and gratification that comes with all the experiences I go through when I travel. Whatever little travel that I’ve done, has actually helped me evolve into a better person. Taking hardships in the right spirit. Getting out of your comfort zone. Meeting new people, and of course, stories! For me, its mostly about stories, the ones I come across and the ones I tell.”


For Shakul the allure of traveling is in that roadside coffee joint or exquisite tatte idly-

“I only see how much the description meets the tongue. I look for things that complement really well.

I believe that everyday we learn something. And that’s what we are meant to do maybe? To live a life, you have to explore and learn. When I travel, I am exposed to many new things which I am very keen to understand. So I learn better, get to know what others don’t. Like delicious food, of course!”

Why yes, he is a food blogger, yes!

 

                        “Every time I travel, it unlocks a part of my mind that allows me to see through my camera in a different perceptive” Sourabh says,”I travel to learn, to relax and to calm myself and most importantly shoot and capture moments.”


Sandesh, yet another co-traveler has plenty of tips and tricks up his sleeve-

” I learned that everyone’s perception of travel is different.  For me if it is about the raw experience of travelling in whichever way possible- Like a local bus , or standing in a general class train, or the local food- even the people who want to go in the luxury of their own cars or go by extravagant transportation also seek to go travelling . No matter how much you plan, if it isn’t a packaged tour type. Something will go wrong or different and that doesn’t matter. And it’s better to get down and try something rather than waiting and contemplating for too long when you’re traveling because you may run out of time or not experience something again . It’s better to be someone who can go for days with lesser than 6 hours of sleep than someone who absolutely needs sleep. During travel, being energetic and enthusiastic is very important. You can’t worry about being sleepy or feeling weak.”

On his images, Sourabh says-

“Do you know how stars are captured by a camera? Those pictures of the stars that are barely visible by the naked eye?

The camera’s shutter is left exposed over a period of 10-20 seconds to capture one photograph of the beautiful starry night. Now if we had to take a 2 second time-lapse of the stars, that would be around 12 seconds X 2 seconds X 25 (frames) = 1 hour of work.

The point is not to show how much work it takes to capture these pictures but to convey the fact that beautiful moments that are recorded, are as good as they are felt, enjoyed and taken in.”

Like the videos, share your thoughts and subscribe to City Diaries to see more of Sourabh’s adventures in and around Bengaluru, right here! Click here: City Diaries

DCIM100GOPROGOPR1400.

Words by JRK

Images and Videos from City Diaries
Leave a Reply

